Cover your tracks online
If someone knows how to read your computer’s history or cache file (automatically saved web pages and graphics), they may be able to see information you have viewed recently on the internet. You can prevent your history being viewed by using private or ‘incognito’ browsers when going online. Or you can clear your history or empty your cache file in your browser’s settings.
Note that clearing all browser history or suddenly changing your device settings may alert the person tracking you – they may start thinking you have something to hide, etc. So you might only delete some things so you don’t raise suspicion.
Read more about safe use of technology.